Travel Blog of Tangol Argentina

The Gaucho Museum And The Museum Of Money (Places Of Interest)



The Gaucho Museum and the Museum of Money share an ornate palace on Montevideo’s central avenue, the Heber Jackson Palace, a magnificent residence of eclectic style with mansardas that crown the construction with slate roofs. built in 1897 by the French architect Alfred Massüe. 

The architecture highlights its fine paintings on the ceilings, carpentry and plasterwork, majestic staircases inside its rooms. These museums integrate the Cultural Space of the Banco República Foundation, which also includes temporary exhibition halls, which deal with very diverse topics, and the Interactive Banking Room, in which banking activity is recreated in the past.  The Uriarte Palace of Heber is a three-storey palace and  it is part of the historical-architectural heritage of the city of Montevideo. It was built to fulfill functions of single-family housing and commerce.   The facade has a classic European style that stands out from the rest of the buildings around it. From 1977 to the present day, the coin museum houses collections of great historical value, such as medals, banknotes, and documents.ion and national and international currencies. On the first floor is this museum. In 1978 a room dedicated to the gaucho and national traditions was added to this museum. You can see collections of silverware, sculptures, gaucho objects such as mates, light bulbs, knives, saddles and popular art.

I was surprised by the beauty of the building that houses these Museums, it is very beautiful and elegant. The collection of the last level was full of articles and objects related to the history of the gauchos. There are different rooms, each with a particular theme.  On the next level is the Coin Museum, it is a large room with some accounting and other related objects.  After visiting the Gaucho Museum, head next door and take the cage elevator to the cafe on the second floor of the historic Clube Brasileiro.  It is worth taking the time to get to know these places.




Source: tangol.com




0 comments: - Write a comment

The Crystal Palace Is A Freedon Symbol In Petrópolis, Brazil (Places Of Interest)



The Crystal Palace is a Petrópolis attraction. It worths to visit during your stay in the city. The structure of the palace was built in France inspired by the Crystal Palace in London.  

It's iron structure was commissioned from a French foundry by Count D'Eu, and was set up in Petrópolis by engineer Eduardo Bonjean. It was inaugurated in 1884. The purpose was sheltering  traditional exhibitions of vegetables and birds of the region.  The Crystal Palace also has a historical significance since in it were released the last slaves of the city on April,1888 during a ceremony and later party that was attended by Princess Isabel.   Currently, the Crytal Palace is home to cultural events and exhibitions. 

The Crystal Palace is a beautiful structure made of iron and glass, surrounded by beautiful gardens.  It is very picturesque and well kept and it is in a beautiful park where one can rest after having toured and experienced the beautiful Petropolis.

It is really beautiful!




Source: tangol.com




0 comments: - Write a comment

Beautiful Frutillar Village Recalling Old Bavaria In Chile (Accommodation)



Frutillar is characterized by the beauty of its landscape, founders' german traditions  and Frutillar Musical Weeks. Thanks to this festival and Lake Theater, it has become the musical pole of southern Chile.

Frutillar was founded on shore of Lake Llanquihue on November 23, 1856 by German immigrants who arrived to the area during President Manuel Montt government. Settlers built their houses around the bay and dedicated themselves to agricultural and livestock work, installing dairies, mills, distilleries, tannery and some stores selling groceries and implements.  Because Frutillar is on the way to Puerto Montt and Osorno, it had a rapid development, which favored trade.  Germans began to occupy farms measured by José Decher. Among first settlers, who built their homes around the bay, were Wilhelm Kaschel, Heinrich Kuschel, Theodor Niklitschek, Christian Nannig, Christian Winkler and Adams Schmidt. They built their own piers on the shore beaches and moved on the lake in steam boats.  Farms, which started from the lake to hills of native forest, were approximately 35 m wide and 4 000 m long. Most of German settlers were farmers who had decided to escape from agricultural poverty caused in Europe by the industrial revolution.  In 1882 The German Club was founded, a place for social meetings and to share publications that came in their native language. Until today, his restaurant maintains its prestige by offering both German and Chilean food dishes. Subsequently, other vital organizations were born for the city, such as the Fire Department and the Red Cross.  With the arrival of the railway in 1907, the station in Frutillar Alto was born. Today it has industries, services, commerce and an office.  The commune maintains many traditions from old settlers, since many of their descendants still live in the zone. 

In 1968 the first Musical Weeks were celebrated, and in 1973 the German Colonial Museum was built. Since the 1990s, Frutillar experienced a rebound in tourist activity, retaining German colonial urban style. The hotel sector, gastronomic, nautical, salmon fishing and sport hunting was developed. The first marina with yacht club of Llanquihue Lake was built in 2002 with headquarters in Frutillar. There is a lot to do in Frutillar,   An option to visit is  the German Colonial Museum, it  arises from the interest of local people to know and preserve the history of Lake Llanquihue and the German immigration of the nineteenth century in this area. The municipality of Frutillar ceded in 1979 three hectares that had belonged to the Richter family to the Universidad Austral de Chile, thus beginning the construction and the enabling of the land for the museum that was finally inaugurated on January 28, 1984. An emblematic place is The Lake Teather , thanks to which Frutillar has become an important cultural center in Chile, also has a musical school in the Richters house. Emblematic work of the city, it was built with high technology in acoustics and modern architecture. In it  Musical Weeks of Frutillar are celebrated and concerts, plays, ballet and cinema are held throughout the year. It is the southernmost international theater in the world, and rises in front of the Puntiagudo, Osorno, and Calbuco volcanoes on the banks of the Llanquihue.  

The musical tradition in Frutillar is long-standing and dates back to the rise Liederkranz mixed choir, created in 1894 by Professor Jacob Junginger. Ten years later, in 1904, the Männercor was born.  Their hymn, Singing sorrows are gone, served them to mitigate the nostalgia and pains suffered by the hard-working settlers and parishioners of Frutillar. During 25 years Junginger directed this choir, focusing on pieces by great German composers and writers. Junginger was succeeded by Carl Hesse, Herbert Koehler and in the 1940s, Robert Dick. 

The Musical Weeks is a classical music festival that takes place every summer in late January and early February in the city of Frutillar since 1968. It was born with the osornina pianist and cultural manager Flora Inostroza (1930-2016) with financial support of enthusiasts of the project among which the Schiess family stand out -the businessman Guillermo Schiess and the death of this his children, especially Nicola, the same ones who have been the main patrons of the Teatro del Lago- and the firm Nestlé (sponsor of a series of symbols of the festival placed to decorate the city mainly on the shores of the lake, on Bernardo Philippi Avenue).

Frutillar, which has a varied hotel offer, offers various tourist attractions: Beaches with volcanoes Osorno, Calbuco, Tronador and Puntiagudo view. practice of water sports; German Colonial Museum and German-style crafts; the natural beauty of its surroundings and  paths around the lake. The main tourist event in the city is Musical Weeks.




Source: tangol.com




0 comments: - Write a comment

The Amazonas Theater, Hidden Gem In Amazon Jungle (Destinations)



The Amazonas Theater is a Brazilian opera theater, located in Manaus, state of Amazonas, Brazil. The theater was inaugurated on December 31, 1896, The first performance takes place on January 7, 1897 with the Italian opera, La Gioconda, by Amilcare Ponchielli. It has been restored four times, at first in 1929, 1974 and more recently between 1988 and 1990, and it currently has 701 seats covered in red velvet.

Today, the theater is also the site of an annual film festival.  The theater was built during the Belle Époque, while great fortunes were made in the region with rubber extraction. The construction of the Amazonas theater was first proposed in 1881 by a member of the House of Representatives, Antonio José Fernandes Júnior, the idea would be to build a jewel in the heart of the Amazon rainforest and make Manaus a great center of civilization.  By 1884, construction was ready to begin, under the direction of the Italian architect Celestial Sacardim, who designed a Renaissance style with advanced technology, including electric lighting.

The roofing material came from Alsace and the outer dome is covered with 36,000 decorated ceramic tiles, painted in the colors of the national flag. The furniture, in Louis XV style, a large part of the company Koch Freres, arrived from Paris. From Italy came carrara marble for the stair, statues, and columns. Steel walls were ordered to England. The theater has 198 chandeliers, 32 of them in Murano glass. The curtain, with its painting of "The Meeting of the Waters" was realized in Paris by Crispim do Amaral, it represents the union of the Black river and the Solimões river to form the Amazon. The beautiful panels that decorate the ceiling of the auditorium and the auditorium chamber were painted by the Italian Domenico de Angelis.

Manaus has become the focus of musical migration from the most unlikely countries. Some of the best musicians in Eastern Europe have been tempted by orchestras like that of Kirov and have come to Manaus with much higher salaries. In fact, 39 of the 54 members of the Amazonas Philharmonic Orchestra are from Bulgaria, Belarus and Russia. Even the archivist is from Belarus.

The theater is very beautiful, and is accessible for visits with a guide.  In the fast food restaurant a lot of plaques are placed on the wall showing artists that have played in the theater. At night it is lit beautifully!  Nobody expected that there would be such a neat and elegant theater in the middle of Amazon jungle. It's nicely built just like ones in Europe, definitely a must see if you are in Manaus.




Source: tangol.com




0 comments: - Write a comment

The National Museum Of Fine Arts Es A Unique Cultural Experience In Santiago De Chile (Places Of Interest)



The National Museum of Fine Arts is a main center for dissemination of visual arts in Chile.  Founded on September 18, 1880, under the name National Museum of Paintings, it is the first art museum in Latin America. Since 1910 it has occupied a building located in Forest Park, at Santiago city.  The Palace of Fine Arts is a Chilean architect Emile Jéquier work and it was built to commemorate the country's centenary, it was declared a Historic Monument in 1976.

The museum has an artistic heritage made up of more than 3000 pieces, acquired through purchases, donations and prizes from official salons. It has the main selection of Chilean sculpture in the country and the second most complete national painting collection in the nation after the Casa del Arte, or Pinacoteca de la Universidad de Concepción. The museum's preserved works cover the country's artistic production since the colonial era, as well as preserving nuclei of universal art, highlighting its collections of Spanish, Flemish and Italian paintings, its collection of kakemonos and engravings, its collections of drawings and photographs, and a set of African sculptures.

It has a specialized library in visual arts that has approximately 100,000 volumes, 7  temporary and itinerant exhibitions maintain an educational program, with workshops, courses and guided tours, and produces informative material.

The museum has a small shop on the right side of the main entrance. A good option for those looking for a souvenir, books or materials with more information about the artworks. Guided tours are available only in Spanish, and as well as the museum´s admission, are free. Tours last 45 minutes and follow the schedule: Tuesday to Friday begin at 10:30 hr, 11:30hr, 12:30 hr, 15:30 hr and 16:30hr. On Saturdays and Sundays there is an additional tour starting at 17:30hr. Its opening hours are from 10:00 hr to 18:45hr. Chile's National fine Arts Museum closes for maintenance every Monday of the year and on Chilean national holidays.

Unique experience, stunning architectural beauty. Do not miss visiting.




Source: tangol.com




0 comments: - Write a comment


<< Previous - Página: 2 - Next >>